top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmmaline

Playing with Meat!

Updated: Apr 5, 2023

For my design class we were tasked with creating our own experimental type. I was super excited! During the reseach phase, I spent some time creating a pinterest board and gathering inspiration. The mediums I was most drawn to where the strange, edgy, and unexpected ones. In particular there were two images that really stuck with me: one of ground beef formed into letters all packed up and one of a letter cut out on fish skin. After seeing these, I knew I wanted to do something with flesh of some sort.


The two images I took as inspiration used flesh in the culinary and cooking context, but I wanted to use them in a more horror sense. I have the idea of maybe creating a thick puddle, but I'll be saving that part of the experimentation for later. For now, I went to the grocery store and picked out the cheapest options possible and got to work.


Carving out the fish proved to be really difficult. I was using an exacto knife, so maybe that also hindered things. For the beef meat, I chose to use scissors. This made things WAY easier, and I was able to create some pretty precise lines. Because of how difficult the fish was, I'm not sure if I'll end up using that medium for the project. Plus the meat has an awesome color to it.


Technically the assignment only called to photograph the letterforms and show how your medium would lend itself to those shapes. I really enjoyed the final product, so I decided to have a little fun with my creation before I tossed them. Here's some of the photos I ended up with!



Final images:



I really liked how the singular meat lettering looked, so I edited it a little bit in photoshop and now it's part of this website!:)



Original photos:


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page