top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmmaline

Ren Faire Outfit!


My latest obsession has been the Renaissance faire. This doesn’t come as a surprise as I was thoroughly obsessed with Game of Thrones, Vikings, and Lord of the Rings when I first discovered them. Dressing up is by far my favorite part of Renaissance fairs.I love having the opportunity to wear things that are a little out of the norm! Plus who doesn’t like to feel a little bit magical?


For the past year, my ren faire outfits have always been mishmashes of thrifted clothes that I’ve pieced together into a cohesive outfit. I’ve picked up some cheaper clothing items from ren faires in the past - but I’ve always wanted to splurge and buy a ren faire-specific outfit from a fair vendor. This summer I’ve finally done it! I acquired my dream outfit! It’s a collection of pieces from the maker: Moresca. This company has been making high-quality ren faire clothes for the past few decades and I feel honored that I now own some of their stuff!


It took awhile to decide what I wanted. Moresca has an online storefront, and for the past few weeks I’ve been dreaming up outfit combinations in my head. I have pale skin and a blue undertone and I wanted something that’d be striking and would complement my complexion. I ended up going for an outfit with the main colors of black, dark red, dark blue, and hints of silver.



This outfit is flexible - it has the option to be worn four different ways depending on the layers or look that’s desired. I took some photos of the outfits, I'm really proud with how they turned out!


 

Option 1 - full outfit



This option contains all of the layers of the outfit. It’s full of ruffles and volume in the skirts contrasted with the form-fitting bodice and blouse on top. The belt, belt pack, and skirt hitches add a nice detail too. The outfit is very romantic, and the sleeves can be worn at wrists or the elbows depending on the vibe. I personally like when the sleeves are worn at the elbows - it’s a little poofier and feminine.


 

Option 2 - half outfit




This option contains most of the layers of the outfit - minus the poofy skirts. When the outfit is worn like this, the sufi pants underneath are visible. This outfit is a little bit more comfy, and ideal for hotter days when you don’t want as many layers. The two overskirts - the v dip and sufi skirt help maintain some of the volume without the bulk.


 

Option 3 - half pirate



This option is a variation of option 2 with some pirate twists. I layered Moresca’s viola vest over the bodice for a little extra coverage and a more pirate-y silhouette. Additionally, I added a sash that can be worn as a headband and adds a few more flowy details to an otherwise relatively masculine look!


 

Option 4 - quarter outfit



This option consists only of the basics - the top, bodice, and skirt. This look is simple but pairs incredibly well. It’s also ideal for hot weather, where you don’t want to wear too many unnecessary layers. It’s also nice if you’re in the mood for the color red!


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page