top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmmaline

Type Poster

This Typography poster was an assignment for my CORE 2 class at Texas State. We were assigned with collecting interesting typefaces and words from a specific spot and then manipulating and arranging them into a poster format.


This was the artist's statement I wrote for this project:


I collected my typography samples while at a piercing parlor called STUDS in Austin. The parlor is very clean and sterile, but it also feels like you’re walking into a distinctly gen z branded space. STUDS is very minimal, trendy, and obviously designed to be instagrammable. Think Glossier, but for your ears.

Most of my images came from the care guide I was given after getting pierced. When I looked at the guide more carefully, I noticed that the individual words could be interpreted very differently if taken away from their original piercing context. Words like: bleeding, aftercare, clean and squirt. I thought it’d be funny and interesting to follow this rabbit hole of subverted expectations .

I knew I wanted to manipulate the words so that when viewers looked at the poster, they thought of something completely different than ear piercings. When I was coming up with designs, I asked myself what a sexy punk poster in a dark back alley would look like? It’d probably be suggestive, subtle, and a nod to those who were in the know. There were some design elements from STUDS that couldn’t be taken away, like the clean minimalism of the typefaces and cutesy wording followed with emojis. I took these in stride and worked to incorporate them so that the overall design felt cohesively minimal, mysterious, and sexy.


Below is the final product (orange papers) along with some process posters (white papers):




I really enjoyed this project! I learned how to use the scanner machine in the ADRC which was super cool! I had never used it before. Now that I do know how to use, my artisitc possibilites have widened.


One element I really enjoy from the scanning process is the natural grain and texture that comes from the paper. It has a unique quality to it that's super hard to get just from using photoshop alone. I'm psyched to have this new option in my toolbox!

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page